Starting on a Ray Bradbury-Recommended Diet

I’m sorry I haven’t been on in a while, all. I’ve been hard at work on a new novel and have become a weekly contributor to Amazing Stories,  as opposed to my old bi-weekly schedule.

I haven’t forgotten about Anything, don’t worry!

Anyways, I’m on here tonight to tell you all about a new project of mine, The Bradbury Diet. Years ago I found on YouTube a lecture that Ray Bradbury gave to Point Loma Nazarene University, and in it he gave loads of advice to new and aspiring writers, including a “hygiene” of sorts to follow. This included writing one short story a week, eschewing novel-writing in favor of short stories, watching old movies and a butt load of reading. To be more precise, he wanted us to read one short story, one essay, and one poem every night for the next 1,000 nights. He wanted us to learn to recognize and collect metaphors. I decided, after watching the video again for the first time just the other day, to follow up on Ray’s advice and read a poem, story and essay everyday for at least 1,000 days.

Thus, I’ve started on the Bradbury Diet. I’ve created a special, second blog to chronicle my journey through the various genres of literature (bradburydiet.wordpress.com.) I am only on day two but I feel I have read more than I have in a long time, and can already feel like I am learning about storytelling. It might just be a confident mindset right now, but I have high hopes about this. I encourage everybody to follow this 1,000 night plan, and will be commenting and listing the names of the stories and poems I read to my new site every night, with commenting and information from time to time.

Nonetheless, Anything is my true blog, and I will try to do my best not to neglect it anymore.

Thank you for waiting!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

